Author Topic: Effects Loop Question:  (Read 1780 times)

DemonMartini

  • Posts: 1633
    • View Profile
    • http://www.myspace.com/badmotorbilly
Effects Loop Question:
« on: October 30, 2007, 04:05:53 PM »
I\'ve never used an effects loop before...I\'ve basically spent the past 25 years plugging straight into the front of my amp.  Ok, that\'s a statement.  The question is coming up.

I added a boost pedal to my very minimal pedal board.  It doesn\'t work worth a damn unless I run it through my fx loop...actually it turns out that everything works a lot better through the fx loop (who knew?)...except for my wah which now sounds horrible!    

Here\'s my chain: Line Out > TUNER > EQ > HUSH > WAH > BOOST > Line In

How do I get my WAH back to it\'s former WAHing self?  Any suggestions?  Experience with the same?

THREE questions!
« Last Edit: October 31, 2007, 10:10:11 AM by DemonMartini »
\"MOTORBILLY RULES! OK? Long live Rock and Roll\" - Lemmy
http://www.myspace.com/badmotorbilly

DemonMartini

  • Posts: 1633
    • View Profile
    • http://www.myspace.com/badmotorbilly
Effects Loop Question:
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2007, 10:11:01 AM »
So it turns out the Wah can\'t be in the loop.  

It has to go between the guitar and the input of the amp.  Makes sense, as that\'s the signal I want to bend.  The rest of the stuff on the board can run through the loop and everything works great...only now I have FOUR goddamn cables on the floor.  

Guitar or wireless receiver to the Wah > Wah to the amp input > Line out to the pedal board > Pedal board back to the line in.

Things were so much more simple when I only had a tuner on the floor.
\"MOTORBILLY RULES! OK? Long live Rock and Roll\" - Lemmy
http://www.myspace.com/badmotorbilly

sotm_trucker

  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
    • http://www.myspace.com/trucker_mack
Effects Loop Question:
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2007, 03:51:49 AM »
i usually use my effects loop for time based effects like the delay and chorus and flange and shit like that..  


what kind of boost are you using?

DemonMartini

  • Posts: 1633
    • View Profile
    • http://www.myspace.com/badmotorbilly
Effects Loop Question:
« Reply #3 on: November 05, 2007, 01:40:33 PM »
Quote from: sotm_trucker;85251
i usually use my effects loop for time based effects like the delay and chorus and flange and shit like that..  


what kind of boost are you using?


BBE Boosta Grande pedal.  It works great through the loop...it didn\'t do much of anything between my guitar and the input.
\"MOTORBILLY RULES! OK? Long live Rock and Roll\" - Lemmy
http://www.myspace.com/badmotorbilly

Old Hippie

  • Posts: 389
    • View Profile
    • http://www.myspace.com/dragthewatersofwar
Effects Loop Question:
« Reply #4 on: November 07, 2007, 05:38:36 PM »
Demon you may have to be a slave to the xtra cables. Dont sacrafice your great sound quality. If you notice everything is a little quieter in the effects loop.
Dan
\"I have opened doors for many famous people and all they did was leave me holding the knob\"

DemonMartini

  • Posts: 1633
    • View Profile
    • http://www.myspace.com/badmotorbilly
Effects Loop Question:
« Reply #5 on: November 08, 2007, 09:55:26 AM »
Quote from: Old Hippie;85510
Demon you may have to be a slave to the xtra cables. Dont sacrafice your great sound quality. If you notice everything is a little quieter in the effects loop.
Dan


That is the one big upside...I\'m running 50 watt tube amps and my Hush pedal works SOOOO much better in the loop.  Everything is more quiet/cleaned up than I\'ve ever heard (not heard?).  I already loved my sound...but now it\'s just about perfect (for me, anyway).  

I guess I\'ll learn to live with the extra cables!
\"MOTORBILLY RULES! OK? Long live Rock and Roll\" - Lemmy
http://www.myspace.com/badmotorbilly

Stiv

  • Posts: 881
    • View Profile
Effects Loop Question:
« Reply #6 on: November 29, 2007, 06:12:59 PM »
Hey man,
Put your boost pedal first in line cause if ya don\'t it will boost any noise from any pedal in front of it.  Later
Larry
Modesty is a virtue which, when absent, assures success.

spade

  • BLAH!!
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2824
    • View Profile
    • http://www.myspace.com/tinfoilfuse
Effects Loop Question:
« Reply #7 on: December 01, 2007, 09:25:08 AM »
Larry,
I started to auction off all the stuff I found laying around my amp the other night. I\'m not your mother, pick your shit up! Nothing like going to practice and and having to clean up some one elses crap before you can set yours up.  
Peace,
Steve
« Last Edit: December 01, 2007, 12:14:43 PM by spade »

Stiv

  • Posts: 881
    • View Profile
Effects Loop Question:
« Reply #8 on: December 01, 2007, 11:07:01 PM »
jeeeez dude, I borrow your rig, use your batteries, and now you complain that you\'re my personal bandroom roadie now?  Point taken dude. Sorry.  It won\'t happen again.  The problem is, Ray and JP get so freaking stoned and get me that way by the time it\'s over I can barely talk.  I\'m sure you have no idea what I\'m talking about.  But I will try and be better.
Peace out
Laryy
Modesty is a virtue which, when absent, assures success.

Stiv

  • Posts: 881
    • View Profile
Effects Loop Question:
« Reply #9 on: December 01, 2007, 11:09:26 PM »
Oh yeah, I almost forgot.
Blow me.

Just kidding man.

Larry
Modesty is a virtue which, when absent, assures success.